Breckenridge Snow Sculpture Festival

I know it’s a little delayed but I am just reminiscing about winter in Colorado now that Spring is here… I highly recommend that everyone see the Breckenridge snow sculpture festival next winter! I have seen it twice now, and I am ready to make it a winter festival tradition from now on. Teams of artists from all over the world compete in a snow sculpting competition near the end of January in down town Breckenridge. They sculpt from giant blocks of snow for one week, and then they let their masterpieces melt away naturally in the mountain sun. Art made of natural mediums that are meant to be temporary always blows my mind. I really respect that there is so much time and effort that is put into these sculptures which only last for a week or two. The sculptures are beautiful in the day time, but they are even more interesting to see at night with color changing lights. My friends and I went up for a birthday weekend and stayed at a nice condo that we found on Airbnb in Keystone for the weekend. On the way back I took some pictures of the mountain range around Loveland pass. It was a bitterly cold weekend, but it made for some of my best memories this winter.

IMG_0898 IMG_0993

China

IMG_0997

Germany, Yantra

IMG_1009

USA- Vermont, Explosion with Mongolia, On the way to the Dream, in the backgroundIMG_1019

Mexico, Kab’awil

IMG_1040

Lithuania, The wind of Eternal Change

IMG_1050

IMG_1054

USA- Alaska, Cabin Fever: The Mad Trapper and the River

IMG_1126

View from Loveland Pass

IMG_1129_2 IMG_1141 IMG_1146

Couldn’t help but add a picture of some Sicilian Dessert cookies that we had for my friend’s birthday… Looking forward to Italy every day!

IMG_1165_2

Leave a comment